The Peura Family

Brian & Jen
Cook Family
Christmas Letters

Zachary Peura
7 Months

AGA plenary session
David Peura Receives Distinguished Educator of the Year Award

The AGA Plenary Session will feature two keynote addresses and three abstract presentations, in addition to addresses from President Jon I. Isenberg, MD, and President-elect Martin Brotman, MD. Several AGA awards will be presented during the Plenary Session, as well. The session will be held at DDW on Monday, May 20, 9:45 a.m.-noon.

Guido Tytgat, MD, PhD, Consultant in Gastroenterology at the Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, and Professor of Gastroenterology at the University of Amsterdam, will give one of the keynote addresses and another keynote will be given by a nationally known speaker, to be announced. Three abstracts of general interest will follow the keynote addresses:

bulletStefano Fiorucci, MD, will present "Gastrointestinal Safety of a NO-Releasing Aspirin Derivative (NCX4016) in Humans: A Double Blind Placebo Controlled Endoscopic Study,"
bulletLoren A. Laine, MD, will present "Serious Lower GI Clinical Events with Non-Selective NSAID or Coxib Use: A Double-Blind GI Outcomes Trial of Naproxen vs Rofecoxib," and
bulletMarkus F. Neurath, MD, will present "Epstein-Barr Virus-Induced Gene 3 Deficiency Disrupts T Helper 2-Mediated Immune Responses in Experimental Colitis."

Following the keynote addresses, the AGA Distinguished Clinician Awards will be presented to Marshall Bedine, MD; Ira Goldman, MD; Martin Greene, MD, and John McKechnie, MD. The AGA Distinguished Educator Award will be presented to David Peura, MD, and the Friedenwald Medal will be presented to Sidney Cohen, MD. In addition, the AGA-AstraZeneca Prize for Distinguished Research in Digestive Diseases and the AGA/GRG Young Investigator Awards will be presented (recipients to be announced).

Description: The Distinguished Educator Award is given to an educator for his or her achievements as an outstanding educator over a long-time career. Ideal candidates will have received previous recognition as educators on both local and national levels and will have made educational contributions in the areas of publications and media presentations. Nominees must be AGA members.